Skip directly to: Main page content

Cal Aggie Alumni Association

Cal Aggie Alumni Association

Outstanding Alumnus(a) Award

This award honors a UC Davis graduate who is in the mid-point of his or her career, who does not specifically qualify for the Distinguished or Young Alumnus(a) of the Year Awards and who has displayed outstanding achievement, promoted innovative change and made outstanding contributions professionally, to the community and to UC Davis. Specific criteria used during the selection process include 1) career achievement, 2) leading innovative change in their fields, 3) service to the university and 4) community and public service.

The 2014 Outstanding Alumnus Award recipient is John Chuck '89

After completing his residency in 1989 at UC Davis School of Medicine, Chuck became a board certified family practice doctor and is currently a faculty member at the UC Davis School of Medicine. He is presented with the Outstanding Alumnus Award for displaying outstanding achievement, promoting innovative change and making professional contributions to the community and to UC Davis.

He was key in developing My Doctor, an online tool that helps physicians stay in touch with their patients and includes online tutorials and health-education programs focused on delivering personalized care.

Chuck is the founder and chief executive officer of Serotonin Surge Charities that has raised $2 million for free medical clinics, breast cancer research and scholarship funds. He serves as a trustee for the UC Davis Foundation.

Previous recipients:

2013 Janice Eberly '86
2012 Jonna Mazet '90, D.V.M./M.P.V.M. '92, Ph.D. '96
2011 Sundeep Dugar, Ph.D. '84
2010 Craig McNamara '76
2009 Catherine "Katie" Hunt, Ph.D. '81
2008 Timothy Bucher '86
2007 Francisco C. Rodriguez '85, M.S. '97
2005 Masoud Kayhanian, Ph.D. '88
2004 Robert Steven Tharratt, M.P.V.M. '01
2003 Jananne Sharpless '67
2002 Sue Ellen Wooldridge '83
2001 Ann Veneman '70
2000 Linda A. Boehm '68
1999 Stephen K. Robinson '78