Skip directly to: Main page content

Cal Aggie Alumni Association

Cal Aggie Alumni Association

Emil M. Mrak International Award

This award honors a graduate of UC Davis who is distinguished in his or her career or in service outside the United States. Specific criteria used during the selection process include 1) advancement of their profession outside the United States and 2) community and public service outside the United States.

The 2015 Emil M. Mrak International Award recipient is René González Mejía '86

René González Mejía ’86 (College of Letters and Science) is the recipient of the Emil M. Mrak International Award for his distinguished career and service outside the United States. He is the executive director of the Nicaraguan Development Institute (INDE), the country’s first organization dedicated to the promotion and defense of the economic and social importance of private enterprise. In addition to serving on the boards of the American Red Cross in Yolo and Sacramento counties and numerous Nicaraguan non-profit organizations, he has actively supported the Young Entrepreneurs of Nicaragua for more than 15 years. This organization reaches over 48,000 students with programs that teach financial literacy, entrepreneurship and workforce readiness in rural Nicaragua. González Mejía is the recipient of the Blue Centennial of the Rubén Darío Order in the degree of Grand Cross, the Major General José Dolores Estrada Vado Municipal Order, the Civil-Military Meritorious Medal of Honor from the Nicaraguan army and the Order of Civil Merit from the government of Spain, in addition to several other awards for his community service. He is a Knight of Honor of the millenary Sovereign Order of Saint John of Jerusalem and Commander at the Meritorious Fire Department of Managua. Since 2008, he has presided over the Nicaraguan Institute of Hispanic Culture, the country’s most prestigious and active cultural institution.

Previous recipients:

2014 Daniel Evans '88
2013 Jose Carmine Dianese M.S. '68, Ph.D. '70
2012 Kathleen Taylor, M.D. '80
2011 John "Tico" McNutt, Ph.D. '95
2010 Dr. Terrance Smith '79
2009 John Landers M.S. '65
2008 Mahmoud A. Abu-Zeid, M.S. ’60, Ph.D. ’62
2007 Sarah Marie Otterstrom, Ph.D. ’04
2005 Qifa Zhang, Ph.D. '85
2004 Richard M. Cirami '63, M.S. '68
2003 Jay Kun Yoo, J.D. '77
2002 Kenneth S. Milne, Ph.D. '68
2001 Arturo Lara-Lopez, Ph.D. '80
2000 Rosanna Y. Wong, M.S.'93, Ph.D. '97
1999 Peter N. Quesenberry, D.V.M. '78, M.P.V.M. '91
1998 Jon K. Andrus, M.D. '79
1997 Thira Sutabutra '64, Ph.D. '68
1996 Jerome Francis Harrington '44
1995 Thomas A. Bickle, Ph.D. '68
1994 Wyland S. Cripe '50, D.V.M. '52
1993 Syed F. Imam '66
1992 Joe Roger Held '53, D.V.M. '55
1991 Gajendra Singh, Ph.D. '73
1990 Gurdev Khush, Ph.D. '60
1989 Charles E. Cornelius '49, '51, D.V.M. '53, Ph.D. '58
1988 Phaitoon Ingkasuwan '53