Skip directly to: Main page content

Cal Aggie Alumni Association

Cal Aggie Alumni Association

Distinguished Friend Award

Distinguished Friend of the University Award

This award recognizes a non-alumnus(a) whose extraordinary service has advanced the university and made significant and lasting contributions to the campus. The honoree’s professional, personal, civic and philanthropic pursuits must reflect the high standards and values associated with UC Davis, the Cal Aggie Alumni Association and higher education. Specific selection criteria include 1) candidate has displayed exceptional interest, dedication and/or service to UC Davis, 2) candidate’s dedication and commitment have significantly enriched the substance and contributed to the reputation of UC Davis. This award will be given only in years when a deserving recipient is identified.

The 2014 recipient is Jerome "Jerry" Lohr

Lohr, an engineer and founder of J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, is the recipient of the Distinguished Friend of the University Award for his outstanding professional and philanthropic achivements. Lohr was raised on a South Dakota farm and learned at a young age about the importance of soil quality, the environment and sustainable farming practices. His enterprise now sells a variety of wine and other beverages across the United States and worldwide which maintain his strong values about sustainable agriculture. 

He holds positions of  Director and Chair of the Wine Institute, Chair of the Marketing Committee for Paso Robles Vintners and Growers Association, and the Co-Founder of Wine Vision, a strategic planning initiative to expand global market for U.S. wine.

Lohr is a strong supporter and friend to the UC Davis Department of Viticulture and Enology, and now serves on its Board of Visitors and Fellows. He has been a key contributor in the design, planning and fundraising efforts for UC Davis’ winery, brewery and food processing teaching and research complex in the Robert Mondavi Institute for Wine and Food Science.

Previous Recipients:

2013 Barbara Jackson
2012 Earl Wolfman, M.D.
2011 Margrit Mondavi